December 27, 2007

The Middlesex Governing Body met in Special Session for the purpose of a Closed Session under G.S.143-318.11(a)(5) to discuss acquisition of real property by purchase and G.S.143-318.11(a)(3) to consider the attorney's advice on the handling of the matter, with a brief Open Session to follow.

Mayor Lewis called the special meeting to order at 7:30 p.m. Commissioners Harold Meacombs, Fred Hough, Luke Robinson, Derek Bissette, and J.W. McClenny were all present. Peggy Bissette also attended to present information relevant to the Closed Sessions. There were no guests.

Commissioner Meacombs moved to go into Closed Session under G.S.143-318.11(a)(5) to discuss a land acquisition and under G.S.143-318.11(a)(3) to consider the attorney's advise on the handling of the matter. His motion was seconded by Commissioner Robinson and it carried unanimously.

Back in Open Session, Commissioner Bissette asked to be excused from the vote. Commissioner McClenny moved to excuse Commissioner Bissette from the voting process due to a possible conflict of interest regarding the Bobby Bissette property. Commissioner Robinson seconded and it carried unanimously.

Commissioner Meacombs moved that since construction plans for DFB Development were never brought to the Board for final approval, that the Board requires that all sewer lines be below grade, even if it requires a pump station at the cost of the developer. Commissioner Hough seconded the motion and it carried unanimously.

After a brief discussion regarding water and sewer for Middlesex Estates, Mr. Larry Keesler's subdivision, and who would bear the costs associated with a water pump station, Commissioner Bissette requested that copies of the all the minutes regarding the Keesler subdivision be presented to the Board at the next meeting. The Board requested Ms. Bissette to proceed with the assumption that Mr. Keesler will bear all costs.

Being no further business, Commissioner Robinson moved to adjourn.

Jennifer Lambert, Clerk

Mayor Luther H. Lewis, Jr. Commissioners Harold Meacombs Fred Hough Luke Robinson Derek Bissette J.W. McClenny